Today, Congressional Progressive Caucus Co-Chairs Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ) and Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI) issued the following statement in response to the Trump Administration's decision to implement a "domestic gag rule" which places limits on the ability of Title X providers to offer reproductive health services and provide accurate information to the millions of women and families who seek care at Title X institutions.
Today, Congressional Progressive Caucus Co-Chairs Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ) and Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI) applauded the release of CPC Vice Chair Rep. Keith Ellison's (D-MN) new report, Rewarding or Hoarding?, which exposes the pay discrepancies between CEOs and their workers thanks to new data mandated to be released by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.
Today, Members of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, Peace and Security Task Force Chair Congresswoman Barbara Lee, and other Democratic members of the House of Representatives sent a letter to the leadership of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence urging them to reject the nomination of Gina Haspel for Director of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). The Caucus first called on the Senate to oppose Haspel's nomination in a statement, highlighting her previous involvement in torture and other human rights violations at CIA "black sites."
Today, Congressional Progressive Caucus Co-Chairs Reps. Mark Pocan (D-WI) and Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ), along with Reps. Barbara Lee (D-CA), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), and Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), released the following statement opposing President Trump's announcement that the United States will violate the terms of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) by reinstating all sanctions on Iran that had been waived by the accord.
Today, Congressional Progressive Caucus (CPC) Co-Chairs Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ) and Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI) released a statement announcing that all 76 House Members have cosponsored Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton's (D-DC) bill (H.R. 1291) to make the District of Columbia the 51st state. CPC Member Sen. Bernie Sanders is a cosponsor of Sen. Carper's bill (S. 1278) for D.C. statehood. The CPC is the largest values based caucus in the House Democratic Caucus and officially endorsed the D.C. statehood bill last year, as it has in previous Congresses. The bill has a record number of cosponsors (158), who comprise more than 80 percent of House Democrats.