Washington, DC – Today, CPC Member Rep. Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), along with Congressional Progressive Caucus Co-Chairs Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-02) and Rep. Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), sent the attached letter to FCC Chairman Ajit Pai and Assistant Attorney General Makan Delrahim. The letter expresses the Caucus’ strong opposition to the proposed Sprint-T-Mobile merger, which would cost jobs and raise prices on consumers.

The letter notes, “While it may make business sense to executives, this is a bad deal for the American people. The proposed merger would kill American jobs, reduce competition in the already highly concentrated wireless market, and raise prices for consumers – with particular harm to low- and moderate- income consumers and people of color…The merger would result in the loss of 30,000 jobs nationwide – about 25,500 jobs due to overlapping retail store closures and another 4,500 jobs due to duplicative functions at corporate headquarters.”

The following members signed on to the letter: CPC Member Rep. Rashida Tlaib, CPC Co-Chair Rep. Mark Pocan, CPC Co-Chair Rep. Pramila Jayapal, CPC Peace and Security Task Force Chair Rep. Barbara Lee, CPC First Vice Chair Rep. Ro Khanna, CPC Whip Rep. Ilhan Omar, CPC Vice Chair Rep. Jan Schakowsky, CPC Vice Chair Rep. Ruben Gallego, CPC Vice Chair Rep. Donald Norcross, CPC Chair Emeritus Rep. Raul Grijalva, CPC Deputy Whip Rep. Deb Haaland, CPC Deputy Whip Rep. Andy Levin, CPC Member Rep. Rosa DeLauro, CPC Member Rep. Chuy Garcia, CPC Member Rep. Jim McGovern, CPC Member Rep. Grace Napolitano, CPC Member Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, CPC Member Rep. Katie Porter, CPC Member Rep. Jose Serrano, CPC Member Rep. Nydia Velazquez, CPC Member Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman, CPC Member Rep. Susan Wild, CPC Member Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, CPC Member Rep. Ayanna Pressley, CPC Member Rep. Sylvia Garcia, CPC Member Rep. Andre Carson, CPC Member Rep. Dan Kildee, CPC Member Rep. Marcy Kaptur, CPC Member Rep. Peter DeFazio, Rep. Tom Suozzi, Rep. Max Rose, Rep. Brian Higgins, Rep. Bill Pascrell, Rep. Susan Davis, Rep. Antonio Delgado, Rep. Tim Ryan, and Rep. John Sarbanes.

The full letter can be found here.