Washington, D.C. — Congressional Progressive Caucus Co-Chairs Congressman Mark Pocan (WI-02) and Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) released the following statement on passage of H.R. 51, the Washington, D.C. Admission Act:

“The disenfranchisement of the people of Washington, D.C. is a stain on our nation and our democracy. With today’s passage of H.R. 51, the Washington, D.C. Admission Act, we have taken an historic step to correct a centuries-old injustice and extend the promise of equal representation to the citizens in our nation’s capital.

“The passage of this legislation, which was cosponsored by every member of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, is a milestone for our democracy. We’re grateful for the persistence and dedication of CPC Member Eleanor Holmes Norton, who has fought tirelessly for decades to make this vote a reality. We will continue to fight for D.C.’s fundamental right to equal representation and self-determination.”