WASHINGTON — The Congressional Progressive Caucus announced its elected leadership for the 118th Congress today, the sixteenth Congress in the history of the CPC. This elected leadership will oversee the largest Progressive Caucus in history which, with the addition of at least 16 freshman, will grow to include 103 members at the start of the 118th Congress.

The members elected by their colleagues today include:

  • Representative Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) as Chair

  • Representative Ilhan Omar (MN-05) as Deputy Chair

  • Representative-Elect Greg Casar (TX-35) as Whip

  • Representative-Elect Jill Tokuda (HI-02) as Vice Chair for Communications

  • Representative Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18) as Vice Chair for Inter-Caucus Relations

  • Representative Mark Takano (CA-41) as Vice Chair for Policy

  • Representative Jamaal Bowman (NY-16) as Vice Chair for Labor

  • Representative Rashida Tlaib (MI-12) as Vice Chair for Member Services

  • Representative-Elect Becca Balint (VT-AL) as Vice Chair for New Members

  • Representatives David Cicilline (RI-01), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), and Representative-Elect Maxwell Frost (FL-10) as Vice Chairs-at-Large 

The members will assume their roles upon the opening of the 118th Congress in January 2023. Additional members will also be appointed to the Caucus executive board later this month, including CPC Chairs Emeriti Representatives Raúl Grijalva (AZ-03), Barbara Lee (CA-13), and Mark Pocan (WI-02).

Representative Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), newly elected to her second term as Chair, said:

As a lifelong organizer and activist, I have been honored to lead our dedicated, passionate, people-centered Progressive Caucus, and to continue to do so as Chair. In the last two years, we have accomplished so much together, delivering on progressive and Democratic priorities, and powerfully silencing any skeptics as to whether progressives can govern. We have evolved into a forceful bloc and a principled partner for progressive movements, Senate Democrats, Congressional leadership, and President Biden. Thanks to the work of our members, our Caucus enters the 118th Congress stronger and with greater numbers than ever — as evidenced by this inspiring new elected executive board. I thank my colleagues for entrusting me with this role for the second time, and I look forward to the work ahead.”