WASHINGTON — Representative Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, issued the following statement on the election of members to fill out the Democratic Caucus leadership for the 118th Congress: Representatives Ted Lieu (CA-33) for Democratic Caucus Vice Chair; Jim Clyburn (SC-06) for Assistant Democratic Leader; Joe Neguse (CO-02) for DPCC Chair, Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Dean Phillips (MN-03), and Lauren Underwood (IL-14) for DPCC Co-Chairs; Sara Jacobs (CA-53) for “Five Terms or Less”; and Representatives-Elect Jasmine Crockett (TX-30) for Freshman Leadership Representative and Robert Garcia (CA-42) for Freshman Class President:

“I want to congratulate my colleagues for stepping up to take on the mantle of leadership in the Democratic Caucus. It is essential that Democrats are not just an opposition party next Congress, but also a proposition party — putting forward a proactive vision for policies that invest in working families, advance equity and justice, and meet the challenges facing our country, from economic inequality and voter suppression to the climate crisis. These positions are key to helping us achieve that. Democrats can and will continue to show the American people their priorities are our priorities, and that the work to deliver for them will not stop.

“We’re particularly proud to see Progressive Caucus members elected to many of these roles. Representatives Lieu, Neguse, Escobar, and Jacobs, as well as Representatives-Elect Crockett and Garcia, will do us proud, and ensure the progressive perspective continues to be represented at the Leadership table. Along with the top three leaders, progressives will now make up the majority of the elected House Democratic Caucus Leadership. It’s a clear sign that progressives will continue to be, as Majority Leader Hoyer has said, the ‘beating heart’ of the Democratic Caucus — proud and committed governing partners, dedicated to the success of our party and working people across this country.”