WASHINGTON — Representative Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, issued the following statement on the election of Representatives Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08), Katherine Clark (MA-05), and Pete Aguilar (CA-31) for Minority Leader, Whip, and Democratic Caucus Chair for the 118th Congress, respectively:

“I am thrilled to congratulate my colleagues on their unanimous support in elections to serve as the next leaders of our Democratic Caucus. With this new generation of leadership, House Democrats are well-positioned to enter the 118th Congress and confront the challenges ahead. Our Caucus leaders, all of whom will be women or people of color, including the first ever Black member to lead a party in Congress, will now look more like America — an essential step toward ensuring a body that is truly representative of communities across the country. We are especially proud of the background our colleagues will bring to their roles: Representative Aguilar as a champion of Latinos and immigrant justice, a critically important issue to the CPC, and Representatives Jeffries and Clark, whose ascension marks the first time ever that two of the top three positions will be held by current Progressive Caucus members.

“I look forward to continuing to work closely with Representatives Jeffries, Clark, and Aguilar to advance progressive priorities, including lowering costs, raising wages, and advancing equity and justice, and to ensure progressive members and the movements we come from have a seat at Democrats’ decision-making table.”