Congressional Progressive Caucus Unanimously Re-Elects Co-Chairs Ellison and Grijalva, Chooses Leadership Team for 113th Congress 

Washington, D.C. — The members of the Congressional Progressive Caucus (CPC) today unanimously re-elected Reps. Keith Ellison (D-MN) and Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ) as Co-Chairs of the Congressional Progressive Caucus. Reps. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Mike Honda (D-CA), David Cicilline (D-RI), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), and Judy Chu (D-CA) were elected Vice Chairs, and Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA) was elected Whip.

“We are honored by our colleagues’ support, excited to work with our leadership team, and looking forward to leading one of the largest Congressional Progressive Caucuses in history,” the co-chairs said. “The 113th Congress marks a pivotal moment for the progressive movement. Voters’ overwhelming support for President Obama and for the most diverse, progressive Congress in history is a clear statement of what working Americans care about most.

“We’re welcoming our new members to a group with a strong record. The People’s Budget and the Budget for All provided the guiding budgetary priorities for progressives in 2011 and 2012 and received praise from people ranging from Paul Krugman to President Clinton.

 “Over the next month, Congress will make pivotal decisions about the future of our country, and it is up to us whether those decisions reflect our values. Forty four members of the Caucus have already introduced a Deal for All (H.Res 733), which outlines our principles in the year-end negotiations. We will only support an agreement with Republicans that fully protects the security and well-being our family members get through Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security, calls on the wealthy to pay their fair share, makes smart cuts to defense spending to focus our armed forces on addressing 21st century needs, and makes investments that put our teachers and construction workers back to work.

“In the 113th Congress, we are going to build on the progress we’ve made.  Our numbers have grown, our strength is increasing and we will not stop fighting to defend America’s hard-working families.”