Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

July 17, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol

Dear Mr. Speaker:

It is our understanding that the Majority will soon consider scheduling floor debate and a vote on <u>H.J. Res. 122</u>. We look forward to this opportunity to highlight the Republican Majority's enthusiastic support for junk fees, including exorbitant credit card fees. This bill, <u>reported</u> out of House Financial Services Committee with all Republicans supporting and all Democrats opposing, would invalidate the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's (CFPB's) recently finalized Credit Card Penalty Fees Rule (Regulation Z), which generally lowers most late fees charged by big banks issuing credit cards to \$8, slashing the typical fee of \$32 to just a quarter of the original penalty.

We think it is critical that the American people understand the House Republican Conference's firm and dedicated commitment to protecting the business model of unfettered, predatory fines imposed by large corporate banks against ordinary Americans. Thanks to the leadership of the Biden Administration and the CFPB, Americans will collectively receive \$10 billion in annual relief from this rule, curbing junk fees levied by profitable credit card giants on consumers.

We look forward to a promptly scheduled vote that allows every House Republican to go on the record opposing an initiative that will rein in a loophole exploited by corporate giants to boost their profits at the expense of American households and create an average savings of \$220 per year for more than 45 million people who are charged late fees by large credit card companies.

The Congressional Progressive Caucus has strongly supported the Biden Administration's laser focus on lowering costs for ordinary Americans, providing financial breathing room for working families, and creating an open and even playing field in which companies must compete with each other to provide working people with better products, services, and wages. We are proud to partner with the Administration to address priorities in our CPC Executive Action Agenda to attack junk fees across American industries like banking, where corporate bad actors have gotten away with business models that maximize profits through unfair penalties, fee harvesting, and bait-and-switch tactics, preying on financially vulnerable and less-educated customers in particular.

We are unsurprised that House Republicans uniformly insist on defending large corporate banks' current practice of overcharging Americans with credit-card late fees and welcome the opportunity to highlight the contrast in our priorities on the House floor this summer.

Sincerely,

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright
Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Veronica Escobar Member of Congress Barbara Lee Member of Congress

lepli Com Coly

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Mark Takano
Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejardro Frost Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress Troy Carter

Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Juny Chu

Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

ed W. Lien

Rosa L. DeLauro

Member of Congress



Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Ji Tokuda
Member of Congress

Some S. Prese

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bornie Workou Crlema

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress Morgan McGarvey
Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress Becca Balint Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress